Sun Dolphin Boss 12 SS & Ozark Trail Pro Angler Kayak: FULL REVIEW

Sun Dolphin Boss 12 SS & Ozark Trail Pro Angler Kayak: FULL REVIEW

LINKS TO KAYAK SHOWN IN VIDEO:
https://amzn.to/2NTKwvU
https://go.magik.ly/ml/g1gp/
https://go.magik.ly/ml/g1go/

OTHER GEAR I DISCUSSED IN VIDEO:
Gator Guard: Keel Protector: http://amzn.to/2yII0UV
My Favorite Paddle: https://amzn.to/2XPDiO7
My Favorite PFD: https://amzn.to/2SUhY6G
My Favorite Kayak Cart: https://amzn.to/2VRsCwT
Handheld Bilge Pump: https://amzn.to/2XOLXjP
Waterproof Dry Bags: https://amzn.to/2UuKgGa
Actionhat Camera Mount: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B078RVGQGR/?tag=ytk-20

Overall, I am very impressed by the performance and quality of this kayak. I get the opportunity to test a lot of kayaks from all makers and brands. I try to be non-bias and fair in my reviews. For the money I think it is a phenomenal buy. I have seen this kayak at Walmart occasionally for around $398-498. It sells very quick at Walmarts and is next to impossible to buy due to high demand. Sun Dolphin Boss and Ozark Trail Pro Angler are identical so get whichever you can find.

Let me know what your thoughts are…Comment below.

WANT TO SEND ME A PRODUCT FOR REVIEW & TESTING?
CONTACT ME VIA WWW.KAYAKDIY.COM

50 Comments

  1. Work Eat Play 2:38 on April 5, 2020 at 1:52 pm

    What is the weight cap?

  2. Kelly Belshaw on April 5, 2020 at 1:54 pm

    Thinking about my first kayak and I see this one on clearance for $200 tonight at Walmart. I fly fish mostly for carp and bass. Any idea how this might be for fly fishing? I’m 5’10" and 160 pounds. I would rather stand for the sight fishing aspect with carp, but I’m admittedly not the most agile ๐Ÿ˜‚

  3. rotospace on April 5, 2020 at 1:55 pm

    Awesome man. I’m an inch taller than you and a about 5 pounds heavier. Perfect! I’m going to get this thing…

  4. Independent Thinker on April 5, 2020 at 1:55 pm

    Re-entry is best from bow or stern

  5. justchico75 on April 5, 2020 at 1:55 pm

    Could/Should you drill bigger holes in the bottom(s) of the scupper holes to have it drain faster?

  6. Primus Inter Pares - on April 5, 2020 at 1:55 pm

    Best video review for a Kayak I’ve ever seen! Thanks!

  7. Jake Blair on April 5, 2020 at 1:57 pm

    This will be the one I buy. Thank you.

  8. mrcatfish197 on April 5, 2020 at 1:57 pm

    How is the water getting into the haul?

  9. The Fishing Family on April 5, 2020 at 2:00 pm

    Thanks so much for this great video! It really helped me make up my mind to get this kayak!
    Iโ€™m upgrading from a Lifetime Tamarack Angler primarily for the much higher weight capacity and ability to stand.
    I guess if I keep doubling my kayak values every year Iโ€™ll have a Hobie soon ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Keith Williams on April 5, 2020 at 2:00 pm

    Looking for a rudder system for my kayak as it does not track too well. Can anyone suggest one that will work efficiently and with ease?

  11. Clyde Pearce on April 5, 2020 at 2:01 pm

    So just to be clear, kayaks are inherently unstable. A relatively small wave encountered incorrectly will toss you really quickly.

  12. Clyde Pearce on April 5, 2020 at 2:06 pm

    I understand. A young fellow died 2 weeks ago in a kayak very similar to this at our local lake….pelican I think. He was Not the first either. Kayaking has become the number one cause of water sport deaths. I know youโ€™re not trying to mislead anyone, but this demonstration is meaningless in real world conditions of waves, wind, boats, and current. People are dying, with and without life vests.

  13. Tinker Tanner on April 5, 2020 at 2:07 pm

    You would think scupper holes would be placed along the bottm sides facing out above the waterline but below the floor deck ultimately. That would drain well. If properly channeled and the floor molded that way it would be perfect.

  14. Revelation22v13 on April 5, 2020 at 2:09 pm

    Great thorough review! Water is actually 8.33 lbs per gallon.

  15. Gary Boyd on April 5, 2020 at 2:10 pm

    They use the same plastic rod holder on the lifetime tamarack 100. I know there are better rod holders out there, but for a budget yak that rod holder works really well. The multi-way adjustability of it makes it really good for trolling.

  16. Arthur Dirindin on April 5, 2020 at 2:12 pm

    Thanks for your awesome video. Bought a Sun Dolphin 12SS based on this very in depth and through review.

  17. John Schultz on April 5, 2020 at 2:14 pm

    I’m thinking of getting one of these. As a heavier dude, like me, should I just keep the seat in low position? I’d be afraid of stability at the higher end of the weight limits.

  18. Lizandro C on April 5, 2020 at 2:14 pm

    Have you thought of making the scupper holes a little bigger with a drill or is it not possible?

  19. Jp Lewis on April 5, 2020 at 2:16 pm

    Very good video. A lot of talking but 98% was straight to point. Great review

  20. Daryl Healey on April 5, 2020 at 2:17 pm

    Thanks for the great review, and for helping me make up my mind! On a side note, you helped my girlfriend in the hospital today, with her IV, thank you for doing a great job there, too!

  21. NiteWolfe Fishing on April 5, 2020 at 2:17 pm

    fyi i think i found where the water may had come from.
    The scotty mount is open ended. So even with the rod holder in it its not sealed and with it flipped you have a direct path for water to enter the hull.

    I personally found this out when i was silicone all my hull pens. I glued a end cap on mine so no change of water seaping in between the rod holder and the mount.

  22. Brazen Bull on April 5, 2020 at 2:17 pm

    Made in the USA? Sold.

  23. ww3869 on April 5, 2020 at 2:18 pm

    I’m really interested in these kayaks but I’m a little concerned with the durability of the plastic it’s made of. It seems to be made of thinner more flexible plastic compared to the more expensive brands. I used to have a feelfree lure but had to sell it and now want something cheap. How do you think the plastic will hold up to going over roots or limbs under the water that are all over the place in these small south Georgia creeks & rivers?

  24. ant cri on April 5, 2020 at 2:19 pm

    8:23 Is it the weight of the water or the amount of air that the water displaces? I wonder what would happen if you could seal the hull up and vacuum all the air out.

  25. antonio oliver on April 5, 2020 at 2:20 pm

    It works in the bay?

  26. Rick Davis on April 5, 2020 at 2:20 pm

    That looks like it’s sitting pretty low in the water for a 200 LB. man in a boat with a 500 LB. max weight capacity.

  27. TFR Thomas Family Racing on April 5, 2020 at 2:20 pm

    Great review, I’m considering an ozark right now. Thank you.

    If I may though, that’s not how the rod holder works. The reel sits in the groove in the front of the rod holder and the slider locks it in. Where you had it is where a baitcaster would sit.

  28. Blue Collar Fishing on April 5, 2020 at 2:20 pm

    Since I last watched this I had the chance to use the Ozark trail model. A day of fishing seat fell out of track 4 times and it wasnt hot out. Hull filled with about 12 gallons of water and the scupper holes aren’t drilled out for some reason. At 399 dollars on sale you can afford to modify it but you are gonna need to modify it. The water take on concerns me. The hatches are so out or reach I’d probably just fill them with pool noodles for reserve bouancy as the plastic is thin thier is fear of puncture as well.

  29. Lamont Edwards on April 5, 2020 at 2:22 pm

    Is there a cheaper version of this or earlier make

  30. Daniel Acampora on April 5, 2020 at 2:25 pm

    Scupper plugs?

  31. Tracy Inches on April 5, 2020 at 2:28 pm

    what a great rod holder and mount! just perfect!

  32. tinkmarshino on April 5, 2020 at 2:28 pm

    I have been thinking of getting one of these but most "review" are just video of it in the store and some fellas opinions and scuttlebutt . I have found maybe two other reviews that told me about the plastic sliver yours was by far what I wanted to know.. thanks for your time and effort making this.. carry on!

  33. Laykin Birchfield on April 5, 2020 at 2:29 pm

    ""its a GIANT!!!!!""

  34. Fishing and Flying Solo on April 5, 2020 at 2:29 pm

    Would you recommend this kayak for a large person? 6’4" 330#

  35. Mark Thomas on April 5, 2020 at 2:30 pm

    Great review. As far as your 2 cons? Remember, it’s a fishing kayak for under 500 bucks! You forgot to mention the optional rudder. This will be my next kayak.

  36. Christopher Howe on April 5, 2020 at 2:33 pm

    Can you do one of these similar to an Ascend 10t?

  37. Francis Billa on April 5, 2020 at 2:33 pm

    I got the Ozark Trail at Wal-Mart, I absolutely love it, the seat is what sold me on it

  38. Carlosheaven Rosas on April 5, 2020 at 2:34 pm

    Wow thanks a lot for the video!!!

  39. Francisco Sanchez on April 5, 2020 at 2:36 pm

    So Iโ€™m new to kayaking and I was thinking about getting one of these for saltwater fishing. The only problem is Iโ€™m not really sure how well it would handle it, should I look somewhere else.

  40. maiccuzzu125 on April 5, 2020 at 2:38 pm

    How you think will be on bay?? I’m 5,7 210 pounds,,,,

  41. Adam Parker on April 5, 2020 at 2:40 pm

    Would this work for someone 300lbs and 6โ€™1โ€? I canโ€™t find specs any where on it.

  42. A. Santos on April 5, 2020 at 2:41 pm

    Awesome video Iโ€™m gonna have to pick this Yak up. Btw u arenโ€™t afraid of using ur kayak in the lake with all the alligator in Florida I just moved here and Iโ€™m afraid but Iโ€™m gonna try it out

  43. Mr Sir on April 5, 2020 at 2:43 pm

    Thanks so much for this detailed review. This will be my next purchase. We just moved to Santa Rosa county and I would like to get on the black water and start fishing. I’m 260 so was naturally hesitant about stability. What a great deal!

  44. roger portillo on April 5, 2020 at 2:43 pm

    This is the best review I’ve seen for this particular kayak and there are many, great review men, thank you

  45. Mychael 23 on April 5, 2020 at 2:43 pm

    Great review thanks !! I’ma pick one of these up.๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿพ

  46. T W on April 5, 2020 at 2:44 pm

    Awesome video. Was watching thinking that looked like Cape Coral and looked at your channel info and your in the Cape. Lmao. Lived here 36 years but in Matlacha now.

  47. Godflesh88 ver2.0 on April 5, 2020 at 2:44 pm

    Put one on layaway for a christmas present for myself. Looks like a decent kayak for fishing, especially after watching this video. Had a Journey 10 before and it sucked for me. (Im 6′ 2" 240lbs)

  48. TONY on April 5, 2020 at 2:47 pm

    Great video. After watching it I went out and bought one.

  49. Rob Campbell on April 5, 2020 at 2:49 pm

    I picked one of these up a few months ago. After taking a bit of water without even rolling it, I removed the hatches and sealed them with marine caulking. Most of the water was coming from the hatches. The launch and unlaunch after the application of the seal on the hatches, nose went into the water coming off of and back onto my truck. No water got through the hatches after that and very little water was in the hull after that trip, maybe a few cups. It did sit in my yard in the rain after this. Some water got through the edge of the hatch door, but the hatch housing was water tight after the bit of work I did.

  50. Donald Glaze on April 5, 2020 at 2:49 pm

    bustin out the stellas (:

Leave a Comment